How to Cook Cameroonian Eru and Fufu

Published on April 5 2011

Comment Preparer le Eru et Fufu

Ingredients:

  • Sliced Eru/Okazi vegetable (2500g)
  • Palm oil (1 Liter)
  • Waterleaf or spinach (2500g)
  • Ground Crayfish (100g) – optional
  • Smoked fish or stock fish (optional)
  • Pepper (ground or 3 hot peppers)
  • Magi, salt, pepper
  • Meat, cow skin (kpomo)
  • Cassava flour

Tips:
1) Eru leaves are very hard to cook, soak them water hours before cooking. It is also good to have enough spinach to take the eru, I usually cook a 1:1 ratio of spinach and eru
2) Save juice from the cooking of meat and stock fish to reuse later in place of water


Method:

  • Wash the eru, leave it in the water to soften
  • Cook the cow skin with a bit of salt, maggi and pepper
  • Cook the stockfish in a separate pot. When ready add it to the meat
  • In a separate pot, cook the spinach with little to no water
  • Place eru in a colander to drain the wash
  • When the spinach is ready, add eru, stir well
  • Add water (from meat), let cook 
  • Make sure there is little to none water left when it's fully cooked
  • Add the meat and stock fish, stir
  • Pour your palm oil, stir
  • Finally add the crayfish. In a few minutes your eru is ready

 

Fufu.....................................................................

  • Mix a portion of your cassava flour with cold/lukewarm water
  • Boil a small quantity of water, then add the mixture
  • Stir constantly
  • Add the remaining cassava flour little by little
  • Add water as needed
  • Keep pounding the fufu throughout the whole process, and until ready

    ENJOY!!

Written by Riz Sauté

Published on #Recipes

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
P
I love fufu and.eru.your recipe is splendid i used it my darling husband ate.like never before thanks
Reply
P
I love fufu and.eru.your recipe is splendid i used it my darling husband ate.like never before thanks
Reply
P
thank u
Reply
M
<br /> <br /> u r very welcome!<br /> <br /> <br /> <br />
S
I love Eru and Fu Fu I live in the suburbs ofc Chicago by Joliet and I would like to know where I can but ERU. I have a girlfriend who use t make it for me but she moved away and I would love to<br /> have this dish again. Thank you.
Reply
M
<br /> <br /> Hey there! Thank you for your comment. You can find ERU in any<br /> African market. It is also known as Okazi vegetables. Unfortunately I do not live in Chicago, so I do not know the locations of African makets over there. Good luck :)<br /> <br /> <br /> <br />